0 Ratings
Uchida conducts Mozart's Piano Concerto #20 - Allegro I
Seeded by steven on 17 Sep 2009
Author: ernestalba
Mitsuko Uchida conducts and performs. Below is a review, reprinted in the DVD insert for this performance. Two and a half centuries after Mozart's birth, Mitsuko Uchida comes as close as any pianist, of the present or the past, to giving his music a quality of contemporaneity, without recourse to exaggeration of any kind, without a hint of "historicity." There is no pedantry in her playing, no self-conscious didacticism, no straight imitation of 18th century practices. She is, however, musicologically highly informed, and characteristically complements this knowledge with practical experience. (cont. on part II)
Work: Mozart: Concerto for Piano no 20 in D minor, K 466
I - Allegro
Ensemble: Camerata Salzburg
Instrument: Piano
Form/Genre: Concerto
Period: Classical