0 Ratings
Agostino Steffani: Stabat Mater IV; Pro peccavit suae gentis
Seeded by voicesofmusic on 1 Jul 2015
Author: Voices of Music
The fourth movement from the Stabat Mater of Agostino Steffani, performed by the Early Music ensemble Voices of Music. Steffani leavens the rich counterpoint of the outside sections with sharply declaimed homophony to highlight the phrase "et flagellum subtitum": "he was subjected to the whip." 4K UHD video from our March, 2015, concert in San Francisco. Visit us on the web at Text and Translation: Pro peccatis suae gentis vidit Iesum in tormentis et flagellis subditum For the sins of the people, she saw Jesus in torment and subjected to the whip. Voices of Music Hanneke van Proosdij and David Tayler, directors The musicians (left to right, back to front) CĂ©line Ricci, soprano Jennifer Ellis Kampani, soprano Clifton Massey, countertenor Christopher LeCluyse, tenor Paul Elliott, tenor John Bischoff, bass Elizabeth Blumenstock, baroque violin by Andrea Guarneri, Cremona, Italy, 1660 Maxine Nemerovski, baroque violin by Timothy Johnson, Bloomington, Indiana,
Ensemble: Voices of Music