1 Rating
OrpheusRAGA- a web series featuring Anoushka Shankar---debuts January 21, 2009
Seeded by OrpheusNYC on 16 Dec 2008
Author: Orpheus
On January 21, 2009 thirty-four musicians of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra will gather in a rehearsal room on New York’s Upper West Side to meet sitar virtuoso, Anoushka Shankar. Working together over the next twelve days, they will give life to the world premiere of Ravi Shankar’s newest concerto for sitar and orchestra. Filmmakers Chris and Alex Browne will capture this collaboration as Indian and Western classical music combine. They will create Raga Saga, 12 daily webisodes that will give you exclusive access to the skill, the artistry and the inherent drama that are part of the unique Orpheus rehearsal process. Did we mention there’s no conductor? Visit for complete web series information.
Work: Shankar: Concerto for Sitar no 3
Composer: Ravi Shankar
Instrument: Sitar
Period: 20th Century