0 Ratings
Hanneke van Proosdij: Zephyrus (World Premiere, 2014)
Seeded by voicesofmusic on 19 Apr 2014
Author: Voices of Music
The world premiere of Zephyrus, composed by Hanneke van Proosdij, San Francisco, 2014. Voices of Music presents Hanneke van Proosdij, recorder, and Peter Maund, elements drum and frame drum. The starting point for this work was the sound of the winds: in addition to the recorder, Hanneke and Peter decided upon the elements drum, also called the éoliphone, which can make a variety of wind sounds as well as the sounds of a drum. In Zephyrus, most of the percussion music is improvised; some parts for the recorder are composed out and some are improvised. The underlying rhythmic structure of Zephyrus progresses along a branching transformation of different rhythmic patterns or "affects."
Ensemble: Voices of Music