Improve this Listing
Left Coast Chamber Ensemble presents The Sound of Nature
San Francisco, California
Monday, 14 January 2019 - 7:30 PM
Berkeley, California
Saturday, 19 January 2019 - 7:30 PM
Conductor: Matilda Hofman
Left Coast Chamber Ensemble rings in the New Year with The Sound of Nature, a concert of works focusing on climate change and the natural world, featuring a new concerto by Clarice Assad for two cellos, percussion, and cello choir. The program includes Evan Hause’s Fields, George Crumb’s A Dog’s Life, and Bach’s Cello Suite in G Major.

Brazilian-American composer Clarice Assad is ecognized for her musical depth and versatility, Assad’s new work, Lemuria, is inspired by a beautiful, mythic culture lost under the rising tides. “Lemuria is believed to be one of the ancient lost civilizations which existed prior to and during the time of Atlantis,” explains Assad. “The legend tells us that the Lemurian people possessed a very strong connection to nature and were very caring and sensitive to each other’s needs. There were no wars, no hunger, no violence, no need from individuals to profit at other people's expenses. Lemuria is believed to have vanished during a tragic, great flood, and this dramatic shift destroyed the entire civilization, leaving no traces of evidence behind.”

Assad’s Lemuria is composed for two cellos, percussion, and cello choir. “The piece will have many cellos in it, the instrument that sounds closest to the human voice,” said LCCE’s cellist Tanya Tomkins. “Knowing Assad’s music, I am sure it will be filled with all manner of human emotion, including optimism and joy. I am thrilled to be working on what will surely be a very exciting adventure for the players and listeners alike.”

Continuing the celebration of the beauty and spiritual quality of the cello, Tomkins performs Bach’s Cello Suite in C Major. Recognized as an early music specialist, her performances of Bach's solo music are widely acclaimed: ”It is not easy to give a distinctive performance of Bach’s suites for solo cello…That is what baroque cellist Tanya Tomkins did in an insightful traversal of all six suites over two concerts closing out the Library of Congress’ Bach festival” (Washington Post), and “…it’s no stretch to report that (Tomkins’) Bach playing is at a level of deep-seated feeling and communion that most players can only dream of” (San Francisco Classical Voice)

The other works on the program will feature Left Coast’s accomplished percussionist Loren Mach: George Crumb’s Mundus Canis (A Dogs’ Life) for Guitar and Percussion and Evan Hause’s Fields for Marimba. Fields is a dynamic advanced concert solo for the 5-octave marimba. Its vibrant three movements include free passages, wistful chorales, and rolled passages exploring and celebrating nature’s wide-openness and free spirit. Loren Mach first performed this piece at its premiere November 1991.
Who was there?
No one has selected to attend this event...
Who's on InstantEncore?
Johann Sebastian Bach
Partner Since: 14 Feb 2012
1409 Fans
Left Coast Chamber Ensemble
Partner Since: 18 Oct 2011
6 Fans