Improve this Listing
NEC Symphony, Wolff / Kuokman / Myers, Prokofiev, Dvorák
Boston, Massachusetts
Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 8:00 PM
Ensemble: NEC Symphony
Conductors: Lio Kuokman; Hugh Wolff
Hugh Wolff, Stanford and Norma Jean Calderwood Director of Orchestras, is joined on the podium by his student, orchestral conducting major Lio Kuokman (in photo).

Their program includes a new work, Will Myers's Bright Shadows, which was selected as the winning work in NEC's first Orchestral Composition Competition, which will place a work by an NEC student composer on an orchestral concert each year. The judges for the competition were David Rakowski (Brandeis University), Richard Cornell (Boston University) and Robert Aldridge (Rutgers University).

Will Myers: Bright Shadows
Prokofiev: Romeo & Juliet
selections from Suites 1 & 2
conducted by Lio Kuokman

Dvorak: Symphony No. 5
conducted by Hugh Wolff

Program Note on Bright Shadows
"I began writing Bright Shadows in the late autumn of 2011. My inspiration, reflected in the title, was the concept of pitch complements, which the Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu calls "shadows." When a collection of pitches forms a harmony or melody, the remaining pitches of the twelve-note chromatic scale form that collection's pitch complement (at least in our well-tempered, twelve-note pitch space). I originally used these complements very strictly, ensuring that each melody or harmony was balanced by its complement in short order, but while there were some pleasant moments, I was finding the result to be more cold and impersonal than I wanted. So I completely started over in April of last year, taking the sound world I had found in the early sketches' best moments and expanding them freely. Immediately I felt liberated, and much of the piece as you hear it today fell into place in a few weeks. The piece, my first for a full-sized orchestra, inhabits a calm, contemplative space for most of its seven minutes, although it opens up as it nears the end. Apart from a few notable solos, most of the piece's gestures fan out throughout the entire orchestra, unfolding in the foreground before settling into the background to allow more material to become the point of focus.
I am incredibly honored to have Bright Shadows performed by the NEC Symphony tonight, and I heartily appreciate the effort put in by the players and by the extremely talented Lio Kuokman. Thanks are also due to my composition teachers Kati Agócs, John Heiss, Robert Beaser, and John McDonald, all of whom contributed their advice to me about this piece." –Will Myers
Program Click for more info
Myers: Bright Shadows
Bright Shadows
Composer: Will Myers
Conductor: Lio Kuokman
Ensemble: NEC Symphony
Contributor: Jeremy Sarna
Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet, Op. 64
Montagues and Capulets
The Child Juliet
Romeo and Juliet
Death of Tybalt
Romeo at the Grave of Juliet
Composer: Sergei Prokofiev
Conductor: Lio Kuokman
Ensemble: NEC Symphony
Contributor: Jeremy Sarna
Dvorak: Symphony no 5 in F major, Op. 76/B 54
I - Allegro, ma non troppo
II - Andante con moto
III - Scherzo: Allegro scherzando
IV - Finale: Allegro molto
Composer: Antonin Dvorak
Conductor: Hugh Wolff
Ensemble: NEC Symphony
Contributor: Jeremy Sarna
Was there an encore for this performance? add an encore
Who was there?
No one has selected to attend this event...
Who's on InstantEncore?
New England Conservatory
Partner Since: 18 Dec 2008
2535 Fans