Tag this
Help others find this by tagging it.

Mozart: Chamber Music for Strings

In this collection, for the first time in one set, we get the complete works for string ensemble by Mozart. Ranging from the duos for violin and viola to the magnificent string quintets, these works show Mozart’s genius in ensemble writing, finding the perfect balance of harmony and counterpoint, while expressing the whole gamut of human emotions, from amazing gaiety to dark despair.

The selections are:


  • Divertimento in E flat major, K563
  • Duo for violin and viola in B flat major, K424
  • Duo for violin & viola in G major, K423
  • String Quartets (Complete)
  • String Quintets Nos. 1-6 (Complete)
  • Trio in B flat Sonata – two violins and bass K266/271f

Performed by the Chilingirian Quartet and the Franz Schubert Quartet of Vienna

A central position in the set are, of course, for the 17 string quartets, flanked on one side by the wonderful string trio, and on the other side by the 6 mature and large scale string quintets.

These are excellent performances by leading string ensembles, such as the Chilingirian Quartet, the Orlando Quartet and the Franz Schubert Quartet of Vienna. Mozart’s genius can often be perceived most clearly in the technical experimentation and expressive breadth of his chamber works; this 12-disc box of his complete string duos, trios, quartets and quintets places this genius and skill in the spotlight, offering a comprehensive overview of some of the Classical era’s greatest masterpieces.

In these works – which span Mozart’s career, from the Koechel 80 quartet that he composed as a 14-year-old prodigy to the K590 quartet, which dates from the year before his death – listeners will find a wealth of inventive techniques: variations, canonic and fugal writing, operatic melodies, graceful slow movements, playful changes in character and moments of musical drama are all present.

Here is the Camerata Pacifica in Mozart’s Divertimento in E Flat Major, K 563, 2nd movement

And next here is the Camerata Pacifica in Mozart’s Divertimento in E Flat Major, K 563, 4th movement

2 years ago | Read Full Story
Tag Content
Click fields to tag this Blog Entry
Tagging makes it easy for you and others to find your content on InstantEncore.
Current tags
No categories set