Improve this Listing
InstantEncore
Shakin’ the Mess Outta Misery
Chicago, Illinois
Wednesday, 8 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Thursday, 9 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Friday, 10 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Saturday, 11 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Sunday, 12 November 2017 - 3:00 PM
Thursday, 16 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Friday, 17 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Saturday, 18 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Sunday, 19 November 2017 - 3:00 PM
Friday, 24 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Saturday, 25 November 2017 - 3:00 PM
Saturday, 25 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Sunday, 26 November 2017 - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, 29 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Thursday, 30 November 2017 - 7:30 PM
Friday, 1 December 2017 - 7:30 PM
Saturday, 2 December 2017 - 7:30 PM
Sunday, 3 December 2017 - 3:00 PM
Thursday, 7 December 2017 - 7:30 PM
Friday, 8 December 2017 - 7:30 PM
Saturday, 9 December 2017 - 7:30 PM
Sunday, 10 December 2017 - 3:00 PM
Takesha Meshé Kizart appears in the Roles of
Maggie, Miss Rosa, and Swing: Miss Lamama

In November 2017, Pegasus Theatre Chicago—the recipient of seventy-seven Joseph Jefferson awards— will present Shakin’ The Mess Outta Misery by Shay Youngblood. The play follows “Daughter,” the main character and 25-year-old narrator who shares memories of being raised by a community of women after losing her mother as a child. This timeless coming of age tale explores passage into womanhood, race and rituals in the 1960s south. After tragically losing her mother, Daughter is raised by a community of women who share stories of survival, healing, deep faith and mystery. See the Chicago revival of this hit play!

CAST
Melanie Loren: Daughter
Felicia McNeal: Big Mama
Stacie Doublin / Tina Marie Wright: Aunt Mae
Toni Lynice Fountain: Miss Lamama
debrah neal: Miss Corinne
Sandra Watson: Miss Tom and Miss Mary
Darian Tene: Fannie Mae and Miss Shine

PRODUCTION TEAM
Director: Ilesa Duncan
Musical Director and Composer: Shawn Wallace
Choreography: Nicole Clarke-Springer
Scenic Design: Elyse Balogh
Costume Design: Paul Kim
Sound Design: Kirstin Johnson
Props Design: Katy Vest
Production Manager: Kelly Butler
Stage Manager: Krystal Dawson
Assistant Stage Manager: Molly Weaver
Who was there?
   
No one has selected to attend this event...
Who's on InstantEncore?
Takesha Meshé Kizart
Partner Since: 16 Nov 2010
15 Fans
Videos