Tag this
Help others find this by tagging it.

Johann Rosenmüller Ensemble/Arno Paduch

This is a striking disc, though the title is something of a misnomer. It suggests a kind of documentary of the Ottoman siege of Vienna between July and September 1683. In fact, it's a portrait of the Bavarian composer Johann Kaspar Kerll (1627-1693), who was trapped in the Austrian capital during the siege, and who, six years later, composed the Missa in Fletu Solatium Obsidionis Viennensis (Mass of Consolation while Lamenting the Siege of Vienna), which forms the disc's main work. Its dominant mood is one of relief rather than anguish, though a couple of chromatic sequences in both Gloria and Credo glance back to past trauma. The rest of the disc consists of shorter choral and instrumental pieces, none specifically associated with the siege. Kerll trained in Rome, and there are echoes of Monteverdi and Carissimi in his motets, some of which are very sensuous. The Johann Rosenmüller Ensemble under Arno Paduch sound suavely beautiful throughout.

Rating: 4/5

Tim Ashley
guardian.co.uk © 2012 Guardian News and Media Limited or its affiliated companies. All rights reserved. | Use of this content is subject to our Terms & Conditions | More Feeds

4 years ago | | Read Full Story
Tag Content
Click fields to tag this News Story
Tagging makes it easy for you and others to find your content on InstantEncore.
Current tags
No categories set