Tag this
Help others find this by tagging it.

In this installment of our season-long A Golden Age of Music series, Carnegie Hall's Director of Artistic Planning Jeremy Geffen introduces Ravel's exciting, gamelan-influenced String Quartet in F Major. The Takács Quartet performs this work in Zankel Hall on April 14.

The piece—which began as a tribute to Debussy's sole string quartet—was written in response to the earlier domination of the form by German and Austrian composers. Geffen also reveals how close we came to losing this amazing masterpiece and the surprising circumstances from which this threat emanated.


April 14, Takács Quartet
A Golden Age of Music
Ravel's String Quartet in F Major at A Golden Age of Music

6 years ago | Read Full Story
Tag Content
Click fields to tag this Blog Entry
Tagging makes it easy for you and others to find your content on InstantEncore.
Current tags
No categories set