Tag this
Help others find this by tagging it.

Nash Ensemble

Last week I explored a piano concerto by Erik Chisholm that was influenced by his native Scottish pipe music. I thought it was totally devoid of cliche. I wish I could say the same of this collection by the Andalucian Joaquín Turina (1882-1949). Charming though most of it is, it falls back too often on flamenco-like bombast – all fluttering fans and stamping feet – to be truly engaging. The liner notes urge us to listen to his Piano Quartet in A minor, Violin Sonata No 2 in G major and Piano Trio No 1 not with modern ears but with the attention of listeners coming afresh to the Andalucian folk tradition. Even with the exquisite playing of the Nash Ensemble that's a tall order.

Stephen Pritchard
guardian.co.uk © 2012 Guardian News and Media Limited or its affiliated companies. All rights reserved. | Use of this content is subject to our Terms & Conditions | More Feeds

5 years ago | | Read Full Story
Tag Content
Click fields to tag this News Story
Tagging makes it easy for you and others to find your content on InstantEncore.
Current tags
Composer: Joaquin Turina
Presenter: Hyperion Records
No categories set